Skip to main content

JCC Library Services for Distance Learners: Finding Films, Music & Images

Services and resources available at JCC's Library

Music

The Media Center has a collection of Music CDs and they must be used in the Library.  To find a particular title, use our online catalog CannonCat. Do an advanced search and specify the format as music.

Use the Films, Music and Images web page on the library website to access our great music database, Naxos Music Library. You can listen to many different types of music using this database!

Read the instructions about passwords in the box to the right if you cannot log in.

Films

The Media Center in the JCC Library houses over educational and feature films. Most must be used in the Library, but some are available to borrow. To find out whether the Library has a particular title, use our online catalog CannonCat  and change the collection in the basic search to Media.

You can also view films online. Use the Films, Music and Images web page on the library website to access several different streaming video databases. You can also find links to our music database, Naxos and two databases for images that can be use for educational purposes. This helps you illustrate a project without concern for copyright issues.

Passwords: You may be asked to login when you click on a link to a database or an electronic book. Use your MyJCC user name and password. If you do not know your MyJCC user name and password, look at the library handout "Accessing the JCC Databases from Your Home or Office". If you still have trouble, ask for help from Instructional Technology by contacting the Student Help Desk. Email or call 315-786-6511 (toll free 1-888- 435-6522) and ask for the Help Desk.

Images

It is really easy to copy and paste images from the World Wide Web. However, copyright laws and respect for intellectual property are important issues that need to be followed. Use the Films, Music and Images web page on the library website to access two different image databases. ImageQuest is a library of thousands of photographs on many topics. If you need art images for a research project you can use ARTstor. You can use images from ImageQuest or ARTstor for a paper or presentation without concern that you are violating copyright law. You will still need to cite the source of any image you use.

 

Need Help? Ask Here!

 

 

 

Use the above chat widget to get help from a live librarian 24 hours a day, 7 days a week

Email the library at reference@sunyjefferson.edu
or phone 315-786-2482