Skip to main content

Nursing: Finding articles

Creating a Search Statement

Accessing Full Text Articles

  • To be sure you can read the entire article limit your search to full text. An abstract is just a summary of the article, not the full text of the article.
  • If you have found a citation to an article that does not include a link to the full text try clicking on Find it! to see if the article is available from another JCC Database.
  • If you still cannot access the full text try JCC's Information Delivery Services (IDS). Set up an ILLIAD account, put in your request and we'll try to get what you need from another library.
  • Ask for help if you need it. Use the contact information to the right to get in touch with the library or chat with a librarian using Ask Us 24/7

Search Almost Everything

Search Almost Everything
Limit Your Results

Scholarly Peer Reviewed Articles

Refining your search results

Every databases will have some options to help you refine your search results. Look for options that filter your results by publication type (peer-reviewed, clinical trial, case study, systemic review). Here is a screenshot of some of the options that CINAHL have to offer. 

______

**NEW** Nursing Reference Center

Nursing Reference Center

Provides clincal evidence and reference information, evidence-based care sheets, disease and drug information. Also provides accredited continuing education modules.

Ask a Librarian 24/7 Chat

Passwords

  • You will be asked to login when you click on a link to a database or an electronic book. Use your JCC login (whatever you use to login into MyJCC or Blackboard) .

  • If you still have trouble, ask for help from Instructional Technology by contacting the StudentHelpDesk. Call 315-786-6511 or toll free 1-888- 435-6522, and ask for the Help Desk.