Skip to main content

SOC 241 Marriage and Family R. Riehm: Articles

Online Access

We offer a wealth of quality research resources via this research guide and our website.

If you have accessing the library's website and/or this research guide via the MyJCC Portal, you should not need to login again.

If you did not login to the MyJCC Portal, you will likely need to login once you attempt to access a library database or ebook for the first time in your research session.

When the white login screen appears simply enter your MyJCC Portal/Blackboard login username and password.  Further details are available via the link below.

Journal Articles

The following two databases are highly recommended for the "Article Review Assignment" as they provide content from the vast majority of the scholarly journals recommended by your professor (as noted below):

Note: Links open a new browser window

SocIndex with Full Text   (Includes articles from:  American Sociological Review; Anthropology Today; Cultural Anthropology; Current Anthropology; Demography; International Journal of Law, Policy and the Family; Journal of Marriage and the Family; Sex Roles; Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society)

JSTOR (Includes articles from:  American Anthropologist; American Sociological Review; Anthropology Today; Cultural Anthropology; Current Anthropology; Demography; International Journal of Law, Policy and the Family; Journal of Marriage and the Family; Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society)

 

The following database provides one journal that has been recommended by your professor, as noted below:

Academic OneFile (Includes articles from Human Ecology)

 

The following database provides content from a variety of sociology scholarly journals:

ScienceDirect

 

Go to the  Articles - JCC Databases page for additional database options

Scholarly vs. popular articles

View the YouTube video below to help you understand the difference between scholarly and popular publications. This video was produced by Vanderbilt University.