Skip to main content

Local History and Archives: Local History Books

Provides information on the services and holdings of the Local History and Archives area of the library.

Selected Books

The following titles provides a wealth of local history information. Some of these are free online books, some require a JCC staff or student login, and  those with a call number listed are in our book collections. Some titles in the print collection are too rare and/or in poor condition and are not loaned. 

Jefferson County

  • Hough, Franklin Benjamin.  A History of Jefferson County in the State of New York, from the Earliest Period to the Present Time.
    (Published in 1854, Call number: Arch. Ref. F127 .J4 H7)  This is considered to be the most authoritive work on early Jefferson County history. Hough interviewed many original settlers in the region making this an invaluable source. 
  • Emerson, Edgar C. Our County and Its People.
    (Published in 1898, Call number: Arch. Ref. F127 .J4 E5) An excellent and very reliable source on early Jefferson County history.
  • Oakes, Rensselaer Allston. Genealogical and Family History of the County of Jefferson Vol 1. & Vol. 2.
    (Published in 1905 in two volumes, Call number Arch. Ref. F127 .J4 O2) Excellent information on the families of Jefferson County.
     
  • Petersen, Keitha Kellogg. Drummed Out: A History of Sterlingville and Environs This well-illustrated book primarily provides the history of the Jefferson County village of Sterlingville, a small community that ceased to exist upon the government's expansion of Pine Camp (now Fort Drum), just prior to the United States' entry into World War II.

  • Shampine, David. The North Country Murder of Irene Izak.
    (Call number: HV6533.N5 S53 2010)
     
  • Shampine, David and Daniel Boyer. The Jefferson County Egan Murders.
    (Call number: HV6533 .N5 S528 2014)

Northern New York

  • Shampine, David. Colorful Characters of Northern New York. 
    (Call number:  CT251 .S53 2010)
     
  • Shampine, David. New York's North Country and the Civil War.
    (Call number: E523 .S53 2012)
     
  • Shampine, David. Remembering New York's North Country.
    (Call number:  F129.W3 S53 2009)

     


New York State

The Adirondack Region

  • Headley, Joel T. The Adirondack; Or, Life in the Woods

    (First published in 1849, Call number:  Arch. Ref. F127 .A2 H6) Perhaps the best example of early Adirondack writing, this work provides the author's accounts of his travels throughout the Adirondacks. Note:  The link above provides the text of an expanded edition published in 1869.