Skip to main content

English Composition and Literature: Articles

What is a library database?

When we say library database we are generally referring to the tools we use to search for resources like journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.  However, some of our library databases can also be used to find educational videos or reference material such as encyclopedia entries. 

These library databases contain valuable information that can not be found on the world wide web.

General Use Database

  • Academic Search Complete Multi-disciplinary database with thousands of full-text articles from scholarly journals and general, popular magazines.
  • MasterFILE Premier  Multi-disciplinary database providing many full-text articles, with emphasis on general, popular magazines. Also includes a large variety of reference sources, images, maps and flags.
  • Omnifile Full Text Select (provided through NNYLN) A multi-disciplinary database with many full-text articles from scholarly journals and general, popular magazines.

Pro/Con Database

  • Opposing Viewpoints  Provides essays offering in-depth analysis of all sides of many current social issues. Great for topic selection and focusing.
  • Points of View Reference Center  Provides articles and essays on current and controversial topics. A good source to use when considering all sides of a topic. Includes images, videos, primary documents and radio/TV news transcripts.
  • CQ Researcher Provides reports on current and controversial issues, giving all sides of an issue and citations to other sources of information. Great for topic selection and focusing. Includes full-text going back to 1991.