Skip to main content

Social Science Research: Psychology

Search Almost Everything

Try using Search Almost Everything. It gives you a Google-type search of almost all the library's resources, including print books, DVDs, electronic books, articles from databases and electronic reference sources. Use the search box below or find Search Almost Everything on the Library's homepage.

EBSCO Discovery Service

Books

The JCC Library offers good resources for research in the area of psychology, whether you can come to the library or can only connect online

  • Print Books

         Use CannonCat to look up print books and Search Almost Everything for full text e-books. Follow instructions for logging into e-books here.

         Print books on psychology are found in the BF section of the library. Click here for further details. You may also find resources in the health section (RC).

BF Psychology

173-175 Psychoanalysis

176 Psychological Tests and Testing

180-205 Experimental Psychology

207-209 Psychotropic Drugs

231-299 Sensation, Aesthiology

309-499 Consciousness, Cognition, Perception, Intuition

501-504.3 Motivation

511-593 Emotion, Feeling, Affection608-635 Will, Choice,Volition

636-637 Applied Psychology

60-685 Comparative Psychology

698-698.9 Personality

699-711 Genetic Psychology

712-724.85 Developmental Psychology

721-723 Child Psychology

795-839.5 Temperament, Character (Ethology)

839.8-861 Physiognom

RC     Neurology and Psychiatry, Neuropsychiatry

               346-429               Neurology, Diseases of the Nervous System (including speech disorders)

               435-571               Psychiatry

               475-489               Therapeutics, Psychotherapy

               490-499               Hypnotism and Hypnosis, Suggestion Therapy

               500-510               Psychoanalysis

               512-571               Psychopathology

               512-528               Psychoses

               530-552               Neuroses

               554-569.5            Personality Disorders, Behavior Problems (including sexual problems, drug abuse, suicide, child abuse)

E-books for psychology

 Use Search Almost Everything to look up full text e-books. Follow instructions for logging into e-books here.

There are also some good reference e-books available through the JCC databases here.

Below are just a sample of the many excellent e-books on psychology that you can access online.

Articles from JCC databases

Here are suggested databases for psychology research. In addition, several other general topic databases may also provide good psychology resources.

Websites

Below are just a few suggestions for good websites for psychology research. There are many very good websites out there, and and also many not-so-good websites. Remember to evaluate any website that you use for research! Your work is only as good as the resources that you choose to use. The list below was compiled by librarian William Pankey of William Rainey Harper College and used with his permission.

  • American Association of Marriage and Family Therapists
    The American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT) is the professional association for the field of marriage and family therapy. We represent the professional interests of more than 24,000 marriage and family therapists throughout the United States, Canada and abroad.
  • American Psychiatric Association
    The American Psychiatric Association is a medical specialty society recognized world-wide. Its over 38,000 U.S. and international member physicians work together to ensure humane care and effective treatment for all persons with mental disorder, including mental retardation and substance-related disorders. It is the voice and conscience of modern psychiatry. Its vision is a society that has available, accessible quality psychiatric diagnosis and treatment.
  • American Psychological Association
    Based in Washington, DC, the American Psychological Association (APA) is a scientific and professional organization that represents psychology in the United States. With 150,000 members, APA is the largest association of psychologists worldwide.
  • National Association of Social Workers
    The National Association of Social Workers (NASW) is the largest membership organization of professional social workers in the world, with 150,000 members. NASW works to enhance the professional growth and development of its members, to create and maintain professional standards, and to advance sound social policies.
  • National Board of Clinical Counselors
    Welcome to the new NBCC Web site. We designed it with the needs of both counselors and the general public in mind. Our goal was to make this site logical and user-friendly without losing any of the helpful content in our previous site. Soon, CCE, NBCC International and the NBCC Foundation also will have redesigned sites with formats that are similar to this one, but customized for their unique purposes.
  • National Alliance on Mental Illness: New York
    Contains current facts and statistics on mental illness in New York; identifies family resources; provides articles and information regarding specific disorders of childhood,adolescence and adulthood.
  • National Institute of Mental Health
    Current information on clinical trials, news and events, and information for public, practitioners and researchers of specific mental and behavioral disorders. The National Institutes for Health (nih.gov) and the US Department of Health and Human Services (also under NIH) also have abstracts, citations, and some articles available.
  • Careers in psychology
    Careers in psychology is a resource for students that are interested in pursuing a career in the field of psychology. The site has career and licensure info, jobs, experts, internships. We think that it would be really useful to your students and users.

Need Help? Ask Here!

 

 

 

Use the above chat widget to get help from a live librarian 24 hours a day, 7 days a week

Email the library at reference@sunyjefferson.edu
or phone 315-786-2482