Skip to main content

Social Science Research: History

Search Almost Everything

Try using Search Almost Everything. It gives you a Google-type search of almost all the library's resources, including print books, DVDs, electronic books, articles from databases and electronic reference sources. Use the search box below or find Search Almost Everything on the Library's homepage.

Search Almost Everything
Limit Your Results

Books

The JCC Library offers good resources for research in the area of history, whether you can come to the library or can only connect online

 

  • Print Books

 

         Use CannonCat to look up print books and Search Almost Everything for full text e-books. Follow instructions for logging into e-books here.

 

         Print books on history are found in the D, E and F sections of the library. Click here for further details.

D - History: General and outside the Americas

 

DA Great Britain
DAW Central Europe
DB Austria. Hungary. Czechoslovakia
DC France
DD Germany
DE The Greco-Roman World
DF Greece
DG Italy
DH Low Countries. Benelux Countries
DJ Netherlands (Holland)
DJK Eastern Europe (General)
DK Russia. Soviet Union. Former Soviet Republics. Poland
DL Northern Europe. Scandinavia
DP Spain. Portugal
DQ Switzerland
DR Balkan Peninsula. Turkey
DS Asia
DT Africa
DU Oceania (South Seas)
DX Gypsies

E - F - History: North America and United States

E United States (General)
F United States local history. Canada. Latin America

E-books for History

 Use Search Almost Everything to look up full text e-books. Follow instructions for logging into e-books here.

There are also some good reference e-books available through the JCC databases here.

Below are just a sample of the many excellent e-books on history that you can access online.

Articles from JCC databases

Here are suggested databases for history research. In addition, several other general topic databases may also provide good history resources.

Primary Sources from JCC databases

Websites for History

Below are just a few suggestions for good websites for history research. There are many very good websites out there, and and also many not-so-good websites. Remember to evaluate any website that you use for research! Your work is only as good as the resources that you choose to use. The list below was compiled by librarian William Glenn of SUNY Stony Brook and used with his permission.

  • American Memory (Library of Congress)  
    Coverage varies. Free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. A digital record of American history and creativity. From the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions.
  • Best of History Web Sites
    Best of History Web Sites contains annotated links to over 1200 history web sites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 history lesson plans, history teacher guides, history activities, history games, history quizzes, and more.
  • History Matters (Center for History and New Media)
    Among the many digital resources are lesson plans, syllabi, links, and exhibits. Designed for professional historians, high school teachers, and students of history.
  • Internet Library of Early Journals (ILEJ)
    Digital collection from the Universities of Birmingham, Leeds, Manchester and Oxford. Searchable full text of several eighteenth and early nineteenth-century British publications.
  • Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
    Newspaper pages from 1860-1922. Also includes information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
  • EuroDocs: Western European Primary Historical Documents
    Western European historical documents (mainly primary) that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries (and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history). The order of documents is chronological wherever possible.
  • The European Library
    Search catalogues, digital collections, audio and printed music, images, manuscripts, maps, journals, children's literature, theses and dissertations from Europe's National Libraries.
  • Voice of the Shuttle
    Searchable database of websites for research in the Humanities; includes a large section of primary and secondary material about European History.
  • H-Net: Humanities and Social Sciences Online
    H-Net is an international interdisciplinary organization of scholars and teachers dedicated to the enormous educational potential of the Internet and the World Wide Web.
  • The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
    Details of 35,000 slaving voyages to facilitate the study of cultural, demographic, and economic change in the Atlantic world from the late sixteenth to the mid-nineteenth centuries. Trends and cycles in the flow of African captives from specific coastal outlets should provide scholars with new, basic information useful in examining the relationships among slaving, warfare—in both Africa and Europe—political instability, and climatic and ecological change, among other forces.
  • Internet History Sourcebooks Project From Fordham University - a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented for educational use.

JCC Library Handouts

These are simplified handouts for citing various types of resources that you may encounter while doing research. There are many other types of resources that you may use. Refer to the JCC Library's Citing Sources Guide or the  Purdue OWL website for more information about documenting your research. And ask for help if you need it!

Need Help? Ask Here!

Use the above chat widget to get help from a live librarian 24 hours a day, 7 days a week

You may also email the library for help at reference@sunyjefferson.edu
or phone us during lthe library's open hours - call 315-786-2482 or toll free 888-435-6522 and ask for the library.