Skip to main content

Hospitality and Tourism : Winery Operations

Books

The JCC Library offers good resources for research in the area of winery management and marketing and viticulture, whether you can come to the library or can only connect online

  • Books

         Use CannonCat to look up print books and full text e-books. Follow these  instructions for logging into e-books.

         Books for this topic are found in several different areas of the library. Books on wine are found in the TP 500-660 section. This includes the science of fermentation.

Books on winery management and marketing are in the buiness section, in HD 9375.

Books on viticulture are in the agriculture section, specifically SB 387-389

 

E-Books

Use CannonCat to look up full text e-books. You can limit your search to just e-books by using the "change collection" pull-down. Follow these  instructions for logging into e-books.

There are also some good reference e-books available through the JCC databases.

Below are just a sample of e-books on wine, wineries and viticulture  that you can access online.

Articles from databases

Business databases listed below are good for research in this discipline, particularly for management and marketing. Below are a few suggested business databases:

Some really good resources from Business Source Complete:

Barnes Report: U.S. Wineries and Wine Making Industry (2016)

Wine in the United States (2016)

Try the American Journal of Enology and Viticulture   This journal provides research papers, research notes, literature reviews, and technical briefs on subjects related to enology and viticulture.

You can also use the general databases for articles on wineries. Below are a few selected ones to try. Some articles  cover scholarly research in the discipline and others may be more business oriented, or more practical depending on the publication.

Viticulture articles may be found in some of the science databases. Warning - some of these scientific research articles can be very technical!

JCC Library Handouts

These are simplified handouts for citing various types of resources that you may encounter while doing research. There are many other types of resources that you may use. Refer to the JCC Library's Citing Sources Guide or the  Purdue OWL website for more information about documenting your research. And ask for help if you need it!

Need Help? Ask Here!

 

Use the above chat widget to get help from a live librarian 24 hours a day, 7 days a week

You may also email the library for help.
or phone us during lthe library's open hours - call 315-786-2482 or toll free 888-435-6522 and ask for the library.