Skip to main content

SOC 144 Introduction to Sociology R. Riehm: Articles

Online Access

We offer a wealth of quality research resources via this research guide and our website.

If you have accessing the library's website and/or this research guide via the MyJCC Portal, you should not need to login again.

If you did not login to the MyJCC Portal, you will likely need to login once you attempt to access a library database or ebook for the first time in your research session.

When the white login screen appears simply enter your MyJCC Portal/Blackboard login username and password.  Further details are available via the link below.

Tips and Hints for Effective Searching

Once you develop your search strategy and terms and you have selected a database to search, use the search limits and search modifiers to save time and effort.

For example, the majority of database search interfaces allow you to:

  • limit results to scholarly/academic/peer-reviewed journals
  • limit results to "articles" => Note: Many scholarly journals include book reviews - this limit eliminates these from the results
  • Use truncation symbols to return similar words:  * is often used, for example:  cultur*  will return culture, cultures, cultural, etc.
  • Employ phrase searching.  Used quotation marks to return exact phrases.  For example:  "hog fry"
  • Search the full text of the article.  For some topics, it may be useful to search the entire article for your keywords.  In some databases you may select this as a search option.

Also, use "Find It" in the event that you locate a record for an article that does not have the full text.  Find it may lead you to the article in another database, or at the least, you may request a copy from another library via our Interlibrary Loan service.

 

Journal Articles

The following databases will provide you with articles from sociology and anthropology journals. 

Note: Links open a new browser window

Scholarly vs. popular articles

View the YouTube video below to help you understand the difference between scholarly and popular publications. This video was produced by Vanderbilt University.