Skip to main content

STA 101 Public Speaking D. Bartlett: Databases

JCC Databases

The JCC Databases provide access to a huge amount of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, trade publications, newspapers as well as streaming video, music, art and photographic images, and statistical charts. Use Search Almost Everything to find articles and other resources from most of the databases JCC subscribes to with one search. The limiters on the left side of the result  page allow you to narrow down your results to the type of article you need. You can also use subject specific databases - like just science or just psychology databases. Find them on the JCC Databases page.

There are several good newspaper databases that may be good for this assignment, including Lexis Nexis for more recent events, and The New York Times Archives for events from the past. Lexis Nexis has articles that are as recent as today, but does not go really far back in time.The New York Times Archives covers 1851 to 2010.

 

 

ImageQuest

ImageQuest provides rights-cleared images (mostly photographs) for non-profit, educational purposes. Use an image or two from this database to help add interest to your PowerPoint.

 

Unidentified Flying Objects. [Photograph]. Retrieved from Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest. http://quest.eb.com/#/search/139_1892094/1/139_1892094/cite

Using Statista for statistics and graphs

Using data to back up a point for a persuasive argument helps you prove your point. Use the database Statista for statistics presented in a graphic fashion which makes them perfect for a PowerPoint presentation or inserting into a Word document.