LibGuides: HIS 150 / HIS 151 American History: Articles

Selected Subject Specific Databases for History

Gale OneFile: World History This link opens in a new window
Providing over 300,000 articles from a wide variety of sources, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, scholarly articles in several disciplines including literature and philosophy. Includes the complete run of issues, providing articles over 100 years old. For many titles, the content of the most recent 3-5 years is not included. Also includes some primary source and book content.

Literature Database

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. Includes Gale Literature Criticism, Twayne's Author Series, and more. (Provided by SUNYConnect)

Selected General Use Databases

These General Use databases will provide articles on nearly any topic. When you click on the link you may be prompted to login with your MyJCC username/password.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database with thousands of full-text articles from scholarly journals and general, popular magazines.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database for accessing thousands of full-text articles from an extensive collection of scholarly journals, audio files and reference sources. (Provided by the New York State Library)
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing many full-text articles, with emphasis on general, popular magazines. Also includes a large variety of reference sources, images, maps and flags. (Powered by SUNYConnect)
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database with full-text articles from periodicals, newspapers, reference books and multimedia sources. (Provided by the New York State Library)
OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database with many full-text articles from scholarly journals and general, popular magazines. (Provided through NNYLN)

Watertown Daily Times

Watertown Daily Times This link opens in a new window
Full-text content from February 22, 1988 on. (Provided by NNYLN)

Your Librarians / Ask for Help

Need help with something? Ask Us for Help!

If you are on-campus you are encouraged to stop by the Library and ask for help, we welcome the opportunity to work with you.

If you are off-campus and we are open your best option is to call the Reference Desk at 315-786-2482 and ask for one of us. You can also contact us via email or if you need immediate assistance and we are not open, you can chat with a librarian online (likely not a JCC librarian, but helpful nonetheless) as outlined on our "Ask for Help " web page.

We look forward to working with you!

John Thomas (jthomas@sunyjefferson.edu / 315-786-2314)

Beverly Scarpulla (bscarpulla@sunyjefferson.edu / 315-786-2224)