1.1 The Library's Home Page
2.1 Topic Selection Resources and Tips2.2 How Knowledge is Organized2.3 Topic Focusing2.4 Topic Focusing - Subject Encyclopedias2.5 Topic Focusing - Taking Sides and Pro/Con2.6 Topic Focusing - Opposing Viewpoints2.7 Topic Focusing - CQ Researcher2.8 KeywordsPractice and Review Questions: Getting Started
3.1 CannonCat Introduction3.1a Learn More: What is an Electronic Database?3.2 Basic Search - CannonCat3.3 Basic Search Results - CannonCat3.4 Catalog Record - CannonCat3.4a Learn More: Subject Headings3.4b Learn More: Boolean Logic3.5 Locating Books in the Library3.6 Call Numbers - Locating Books3.7 Browsing for Books3.8 Borrowing Books3.9 Electronic Books - Introduction3.10 Electronic Book Use3.11 Evaluating BooksPractice and Review Questions: Books and eBooks
4.1 Newspapers4.2 Popular Magazines4.3 Trade/Professional Journals4.4 Scholarly Journals4.4a Learn More: Scholarly Journals4.5 Primary versus Secondary Sources4.5a Learn More: Primary Sources4.6 Accessing Articles4.6a Learn More: Journal Lists4.7 Logging In to Library Databases4.8 Selecting a Database4.9 Search a General Database4.10 Search Results4.11 Printing Full Text Articles4.12 "Find It" Full Text Access4.13 Abstracts4.14 Interlibrary Loan Full Text Access4.15 Periodical Articles FAQsPractice and Review Questions: Article Databases
5.1 The World Wide Web5.2 Evaluation of Web Sites5.3 Determining the Authorship Authority of a Web Site5.4 Evaluating the Accuracy of Web Sites5.5 Evaluating the Objectivity of Web Sites5.6 Evaluating the Currency of Web Sites5.7 Evaluating the Coverage of Web Sites5.8 Search EnginesPractice and Review Questions: Website Evaluation
6.1 Copyright6.2 Fair Use and Academic Honesty6.3 References and Footnotes6.4 Bibliographic CitationsPractice and Review Questions: Citing Resources
This is the "Welcome" page of the "Information Literacy Tutorial" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Information Literacy Tutorial  

Last Updated: Feb 5, 2014 URL: http://sunyjefferson.libguides.com/informationliteracytutorial Print Guide RSS Updates

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

1.0 Information Literacy Tutorial

1.0 Information Literacy Tutorial

 

Our Online Library Instruction modules are designed to provide our students with virtual library instruction. To as great extent as possible, these modules provide the instruction content of our traditional, face-to-face instruction sessions conducted in the library.

Students who wish to learn about all aspects of research should work through all seven modules. To begin, click on the the "Next" icon below.

Users who are comfortable with Internet use will likely have few problems working through the modules. If you need additional assistance, visit or call (315-786-2482) the Reference Desk at the library.

forwardNext
 

Meet the Librarians

Director, Connie Holberg                                picnikfile_gqyutO                           John Thomas

Phone: 315-786-2225

Email: cholberg@sunyjefferson.edu

Profile

Phone: 315-786-2402

Email: chuxley@sunyjefferson.edu

Profile

Phone: 315-786-2314

Email: jthomas@sunyjefferson.edu

Profile

 

test

images    images images images images
images images images images images

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip