Melvil Dewey Library Staff
Connie Holberg, Library Director: 786-2224
John Thomas, Reference Librarian and Media Center Coordinator: 786-2314
Carleen Huxley, Reference Librarian and Instruction Coordinator : 786-2402
Kenyon Wells, Technical Services: 786-2226
Rose Hare, Interlibrary Loan: 786-2410
Renee Elliott, Circulation Coordinator: 786-2225
Cyndie Sloan, Media Center Clerk: 786-6575
Hours of Operation
Monday - Thursday:
7:30 am - 8:00 pm
Friday:
7:30 am - 5:00 pm
Holidays: M - F 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Summer: M - F 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Note the new 7:30am opening time!
Come in early and often!
From the Director's Desk

Scannx machine now available
The library has some nifty new technology that was added this spring semester. We now have a Scannx machine - a scanner that will scan and print a document, save it to a flash drive or Google document, or attach it to an email - and send the email. Scannx can also create a QR code and send the scanned doc ument to a smart phone! It can save documents in a pdf, searchable pdf or even a Microsoft Word format. The Scannx has an easy-to-use touch screen. Students are learning how handy the Scannx is for their research, copying and scanning needs. The Scannx was purchased with help from Title III funding.
Siobahn Fallon, You Know When the Men Are Gone

Siobhan Fallon, author of You Know When the Men Are Gone, will be visiting campus on April 23rd as part of a North Country visit that includes JCC, SUNY Canton and Fort Drum. Her book You Know When the Men Are Gone is a collection of short stories that deal with Army base life at Fort Hood. She shares a side of Army life not often heard
about – the personal relationships of husband and wife, and the experiences of families and wives who stay behind when their soldier goes to war. Siobhan will be reading from her work in a public event during free hour at JCC and visiting some English classes to discuss the craft of writing. Because her work has so much relevance to the military community, we have arranged for Siobhan to visit the Fort Drum library for a reading at 4 pm, before she heads on to SUNY Canton. Siobhan Fallon’s visit has been made possible with support from SUNY Canton, the JCC Liberal Arts Division and English Department. The Melvil Dewey library has her book. Come on in and check it out.


Muslim Journeys Bookshelf
Mark your calendar for the week of November 11th. The Melvil Dewey Library and the Social Sciences Department are teaming up to bring programming rel ted to the collection of books and DVDs awarded the library from a National Endowment for the Humanities grant. There will be film showings, discussions and a panel presentation. Look for the Muslim Journeys display in the library and take out some the books. You can read more about the themes for the programming in the Muslim Journeys Bookshelf Guide. Think about including these books and themes in your classes to make the programming meaningful to students. An English course, Introduction to Non-Western Literature, is planning on including some of the titles in the course readings for Fall. The grant for the Muslim Journeys Bookshelf was written by JoAnne Rhubart, Rebecca Riehm and Connie Holberg.
ILL: Lending and Borrowing with Interest!

Interlibrary loan (ILL) is the option our patrons have when they can’t find what they are looking for today, needed it yesterday and want it now! Rose isn’t a miracle worker but she’s pretty close. Whether a patron generates an ILL request via an ILLiad account or brings a scrap of paper with a title and a plea for help to Rose’s office, a favorite ploy of many an absent minded professor, the requests receive the same prompt attention. Results can sometimes happen in a flash, sometimes a little longer. Lately Rose has managed to track down rare materials for an enthusiastic community patron who was thrilled with the results of Rose’s expertise and the speed of delivery. A faculty member expecting to find only videocassettes available of video productions they were seeking was pleasantly surprised to receive DVDs of the materials she was after.
The MDL continues to play a key role in the success of the Information Delivery Services (IDS) consortium. Rose does a brisk business loaning member libraries materials from our collection. SUNY Geneseo is our most popular lending partner these days.
The Circulation Desk: Heart of the Library
If the old saying, "What you see, is what you get!", has any truth to it, when a patron walks through the doors of the MDL, they get a lot! That begins at the Circulation Desk, the first thing they see, where Renee and her staff of student workers eagerly answer questions and cheerfully direct patrons toward the MDL experience they require. Remember, circulation doesn't just mean printed books anymore. From the Circulation Desk at the MDL a patron can also check out a laptop commputer, headphones, DVDs, videocassettes,

audio books, pick up an interlibrary loan that has arrived for them, and buy a cup of coffee!
Bibliographic Instruction

For the past two months, the Melvil Dewey Library has been fortunate to have an intern working with our staff. Brooke Hartle is currently completing her final year at Clarion University in the Library Science Undergraduate program. One of the requirements for completing the degree includes gaining hands on experience interning at a library of her choice. We feel very fortunate that she chose us and have thoroughly enjoyed having her on our team. During her internship , Brooke has worked along side our library clerk staff at the circulation desk and assisted our librarians with answering reference questions. She has also completed several projects including the publication of two online research guides, assessing and organizing material from our local history collection, and putting together a wonderful book display inspired by the popularity of Redbox rentals.
Media Center

Media Center continues to replace VHS tapes with DVDs:
Bird
Tesla: Master of Lightning
Famous Composers Series: Mozart, Wagner, Haydn, Schubert, Puccini, Verdi, Bach, Brahms, Beethoven, and Strauss
China: Century of Revolution
Titanic: The Complete Story
The American President Series
The Shape of the World
The Mayflower Pilgrims
Mind of a Serial Killer
The 10 Greatest American Cars
Understanding the Juvenile Justice System
Romero
Retail Cut ID of Beef
Faculty requests:
Thelma and Louise
My Cousin Vinny
Shattered Glass
How to Die in Oregon
Uncorked: Wine Made Simple Boxed set
Soylent Green
Glengarry Glen Ross
Bonnie and Clyde
Tuesdays with Morrie
The Beatles: Help
The Beatles: A Hard Days Night
Because They’re Young
Backpacking Made Easy
Millennium Series: A Poor Man Shames us All/ Inventing Reality
Millennium Series: The Shock of the Other/ Strange Relations
Also from the Cultural Grant:
Islamic Art: Mirror of the Invisible World
Koran by Heart
RECENT ARRIVALS: NEW TO THE MDL
The MDL staff has been busy adding to the stacks this semester in a number of ways. Besides purchasing books and materials as part of our collection plan to better serve students and faculty in support of various curriculum and program needs, we like to provide titles for pleasure reading and for exploring areas of interest outside the boundaries of academia. Of course, our OPAC is the gateway to the materials occupying the MDL shelves but the OPAC can also connect our patrons with our electronic stacks where thousands of electronic books are just a click away! Browse the list of new arrivals below and come to the MDL to check it out. We have new audio books, too!

General Interest:
Against Security: how we go wrong at airports, subways, and other sites of ambiguous danger by Harvey Molotch
Bachelors and Bunnies: the sexual politics of Playboy by Carrie Pitzulo
Best American Essays of 2012 edited by David Brooks
Consider the Fork: a history of how we cook and eat by Bee Wilson
Doonesbury.com's The Sandbox: dispatches from troops in Iraq and Afghanistan introduction by G.B. Trudeau ; edited by David Stanford
Essays in Biography by Joseph Epstein
Getting Wasted: why college students drink too much and part so hard by Thomas Vander Ven
Going Clear: scientology, Hollywood and the prison of belief by Lawrence Wright 
Gun Fight: the battle over the right to bear arms in America by Adam Winkler
How Eskimos Keep Their Babies Warm: and other adventures in parenting (from Argentina to Tanzania and everywhere in between)
by Mei-Ling Hopgood
The Ice Balloon: S.A. Andrée and the heroic age of Arctic exploration by Alec Wilkinson
iDisorder: understanding our obession with technology and overcoming its hold on us by Larry P. Rosen, Phd.
Insider's Guide to Egg Donation: a compassionate and comprehensive guide for all parents-to-be by Wendie Wilson-Miller
Football/Soccer: history and tactics by Jaime Orejan; foreword by Robyn L. Jone
Lake Effect: tales of large lakes, Arctic winds, and recurrent snows by Mark Monmonier
Learning from the Octopus: how secrets from nature can help us fight terrorist attacks, natural disasters, and disease by Rafe Sagarin
Man of War: my adventures in the world of historical reenactment by Charlie Schroeder
Marvel Comics: the untold story by Sean Howe
Milk Money: cash, cows, and the death of the American dairy farm by Kirk Kardashian; foreword by Senator Bernie Sander
Missing Links: in search of human origins by John Reader
My Beloved World by Sonia Sotomayor
Oddly Normal: one family's struggle to help their teenage son come to terms with his sexuality by John Schwartz
On the Map: a mind expanding exploration of how the world looks by Simon Garfield
One for the Road: drunk driving since 1900 by Barron H. Lerner 
The Outpost: an untold story of American valor by Jake Tapper
The Patriarch: the remarkable life and turbulent times of Joseph P. Kennedy by David Nasaw
Reclaiming Our Food: how the grassroots food movement is changing the way we eat by Tanya Denckla Cobb ; foreword by Gary Paul Nabhan; photo essays by Jason Houston
Royal Cities of the Ancient Maya by Michael D. Coe; photographs by Barry Brukoff
The Signal and the Noise: why so many predictions fail -- but some don't by Nate Silver
Super Black: American pop culture and black superheroes by Adilifu Nama
This Machine Kills Secrets: how Wikileakers, cypherpunks, and hacktivists aim to free the world's information by Andy Greenberg
Westies: inside the Hell's Kitchen Irish mob by T.J. English
The World Until Yesterday: what can we learn from traditional societies? by Jared Diamond
Fiction/Literature/Philosophy:
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz (juvenile fiction)
The Aviator's Wife by Melanie Benjamin
Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk by Ben Fountain
Black Dahlia & White Rose by Joyce Carol Oates
Building Stories by Chris Ware (graphic novel)
Dear Life: stories by Alice Munro
Diaries by George Orwell; edited by Peter Davison; introduction by Christopher Hitchens
The Dude and the Zen Master by Jeff Bridges and Bernie Glassman
Fire and Forget: short stories edited by Roy Scranton and Matt Gallagher ; foreword by Colum McCann
Gone Girl: a novel by Gillian Flynn
Good Prose: the art of nonfiction by Tracy Kidder
Infinite Jest: a novel by David Foster Wallace; forward by Dave Eggers
A History of the Modern British Ghost Story by Simon Hay
Hologram for the King: a novel by Dave Eggers 
Life Among Giants: a novel by Bill Roorbach
The Lost Second Book of Aristotle's Poetics by Walter Watson
Mrs. Queen Takes the Train: a novel by William Kuhn
The Oxford Handbook of Aristotle by Christopher Shields
River Swimmer: novells by Jim Harrison
Art, Film, Music & Photography:
Banksy: the man behind the wall by Will Ellsworth-Jones 
The Big Screen: the story of the movies by David Thomson
Facing Beauty: painted women & cosmetic art by Aileen Ribeiro
I'll Be Gere in the Morning: the songwriting legacy of Townes Van Zandt by Brian T. Atkinson
Pop Song Piracy: disobedient music distribution since 1929 by Barry Kernfeld
Post-9/11 Cinema: through a lens darkly by John Markert
Therapeutic Uses of Rap and Hip Hop edited by Susan Hadley and George Yancy
Business & Economics/Hospitality & Tourism:
The 30 Day MBA in Marketing by Colin Barrow 
Bitter Brew: the rise and fall of Anheiser-Busch and America's kings of beer by William Knoedelseder
Global Business Etiquette: a guide to international communication and customs by Jeanette S. Martin (new edition)
Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands, Sales and Marketing: the essential cultural guide--from presentations and promotions to communicating and closing by Terri Morrison (new edition)
Pioneers of Digital: success stories from leaders in advertising, marketing, search, and social media by Paul Springer, Mel Carson
Summer in a Glass: the coming of age of winemaking in the Finger Lakes by Evan Dawson
Walmart in China edited by Anita Chan
History, Political Science, Military:
1812: a nation emerges by Sidney Hart, et al
Alice Paul: equality for women by Christine Lunardini
Alonzo's War: letters from a young Civil War soldier edited by Mary Searing O'Shaughnessy
American Antislavery Writings: colonial beginnings to Emancipation edited by James G. Basker 
Anne Frank Unbound: media, imagination, memory edited by Barbara Kirshenblatt-Gimblett and Jeffrey Shandler
Capital Punishment: historical guides to controversial issues in America by Joseph A. Melusky and Keith Alan Pesto
Civil War Journal of Private Heyward Emmell, Ambulance and Infantry Corps: a very disagreeable war edited by Jim Malcolm
Diary of a Civil War Marine, Private Josiah Gregg edited by Wesley Moody and Adrienne Sachse
Double Cross: the true story of the D-day spies by Ben Macintyre
Fear Itself: the New Deal and the origins of our time by Ira Katznelson
Freedom National: the destruction of slavery in the United States, 1861-1865 by James Oakes
Generals: American military command from World War II to today by Thomas E. Ricks
Hacks, Sycophants, Adventurers, and Heroes: Madison's commanders in the War of 1812 by Col. David Fitz-Enz, USA Ret.
The Insurgents: David Petraeus and the plot to change the American way of war by Fred Kaplan
Invisible Armies: an epic history of guerrilla warfare from ancient times to the present by Max Boot
Libya: the rise and fall of Qaddafi by Allison Pargeter 
My Share of the Task: a memory by Stanley McChrystal
Nazis After Hitler: how perpetrators of the Holocaust cheated justice and truth by Donald M. McKale
On Saudi Arabia: its people, past, religion, fault lines and --future by Karen Elliott House
Party On!: political parties from Hamilton and Jefferson to today's networked age by John Kenneth White, Matthew R. Kerbel
Perilous Glory: the rise of western military power by John France
Umbrella by Will Self
The U.S. Pictorial History of the War of 1812 by Don Philpott
U.S. - Chinese Relations: perilous past, pragmatic present by Robert G. Sutter 
Science & Technology:
Chemistry of the Environment by Thomas G. Spiro, Kathleen Purvis-Roberts, William M. Stigliani
Concrete Planet: the strange and fascinating story of the world's most common man-made material by Robert Courland
Evolving: the human effect and why it matters by Daniel J. Fairbanks
Feynman by Jim Ottaviani; art by Leland Myrick; coloring by Hillary Sycamore (graphic novel biography) 
Four Fish: the future of the last wild food by Paul Greenberg
Global Weirdness: severe storms, deadly heat, relentless drought, rising seas, and the weather of the future by Climate Central
Mating Males: an evolutionary perspective on mammalian reproduction by Timothy Glover
Reactions: the private life of atoms by Peter Atkins
Spillover: animal infections and the next human pandemic by David Quammen
Unlocking Energy Innovation: how America can build a low-cost, low-carbon energy system by Richard K. Lester and David M. Hart
Education & Teaching:
Embedded Librarian: innovative stategies for taking knowledge where it's needed by David Shumaker 
Research Strategies: finding your way through the information fog by William B. Badke
Transforming Information Literacy Programs: intersecting of self, library culture, and campus community by Carroll Wilkinson
Transforming Information Literacy Instruction Using Learner-Centered Teaching by Joan R. Kaplowitz
Nursing & Healthcare:

Community Organizing and Community Building for Health and Welfare by Meredith Minkler
Downs: the history of a disability by David Wright
Handbook of Child and Adolescent Drug and Substance Abuse: pharmacological, developmental, and clinical considerations by Louis A. Pagliaro, Ann Marie Pagliaro
Health Care Reform and Disparities: history, hype, and hope by Toni P. Miles
A History of Organ Transplantation: ancient legends to modern practice by David Hamilton; with a foreword by Clyde F. Barker and Thomas E. Starzl
Killer Fat: media, medicine, and morals in the American "obesity epidemic" by Natalie Boero
The Mediterranean Diet: health and science by Richard Hoffman and Mariette Gerber
Military Mental Health Care: a guide for service members, veterans, families, and community by Sharon Lawhorne-Scott and Don Philpott
Psychology, Sociology & Behavior:
Far from the Tree: parents, children and the search for identity by Andrew Solomon 
Key Concepts in Sport Psychology by John Kremer
Sport and Society in the Global Age by Timothy Marjoribanks and Karen Farquharson
Juvenile/Young Adult
August Moon by Diana Thung
Between Shades of Grey by Ruta Sepetys 
Bomb: the race to build and steal the world's most dangerous weapon by Steve Sheinkin National Book Award Finalist
Burning Blue by Paul Griffin
Camp by Elaine Wolf
Creepy Carrots! words by Aaron Reynolds; pictures by Peter Brown Caldecott Honor Book
Dodger by Terry Pratchett
Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett; illustrated by Jon Klassen
The Girl With Borrowed Wings by Rinsai Rossetti
Hysteria by Megan Miranda
If I Stay by Gayle Forman
The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth
Never Fall Down: a novel by Patricia McCormick
One Cool Friend by Toni Buzzeo; pictures by David Small
One for the Murphys by Lynda Mullaly Hunt
Quarantine: the loners by Lex Thomas
The Reluctant Journal of Henry K. Larsen by Susin Nielsen Canada Council of Arts Governor General's Literary Award Winner
Shine by Lauren Myracle
Sleep Like a Tiger by Mary Logue; illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski 
Splendors and Glooms by Laura Amy Schlitz Newberry Honor Book
Splintered: a novel by A.G. Howard
Such Wicked Intent by Kenneth Oppel
This Dark Endeavor: the apprenticeship of Victor Frankenstein by Kenneth Oppel
This Is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen
The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate; illustrations by Patricia Castelao Newberry Medal Winner for distiguished contribution to American literature for children
Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage
Warm Bodies: a novel by Isaac Marion
Where She Went by Gayle Forman

Books awarded as part of the Bridging Cultures Bookshelf: Muslim Journeys
Presented by National Endowment for the Humanities in cooperation with American Library Association and
Ali Vural Ak Center for Global Islamic Studies, George Mason Univeristy
Acts of Faith: the story of an American Muslim, the struggle for the soul of a generation by Eboo Patel
The Arabian Nights translated by Husain Haddawy ; based on the text of the fourteenth-century Syrian manuscript edited by Muhsin Mahdi
The art of Hajj by Venetia Porter
Broken Verses by Kamila Shamsie
The Butterfly Mosque by G. Willow Wilson
The Columbia sourcebook of Muslims in the United States edited by Edward E. Curtis IV
The Conference of the Birds by Farid ud-Din Attar ; translated with an introduction by Afkham Darbandi and Dick Davis 
Dreams of Trespass: tales of a harem girlhood by Fatima Mernissi ; photographs by Ruth V. Ward
House of Stone: a memoir of home, family, and a lost Middle East by Anthony Shadid
The House of Wisdom: how Arabic science saved ancient knowledge and gave us the Renaissance by Jim Al-Khalili
In An Antique Land by Amitav Ghosh
In the Country of Men by Hisham Matar
Islamic Arts by Jonathan Bloom and Sheila Blair
Leo Africanus by Amin Maalouf ; translated by Peter Sluglett
Minaret by Leila Aboulela
Muhammad: a very short introduction by Jonathan A. C. Brown
The Ornament of the World: how Muslims, Jews, and Christians created a culture of tolerance in medieval Spain by María Rosa Menocal
Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi
A Quiet Revolution: the veil's resurgence, from the Middle East to America by Leila Ahmed
Rumi: poet and mystic : selections from his writings translated from the Persian with introduction and notes by Reynold A. Nicholson 
Snow by Orhan Pamuk ; translated from the Turkish by Maureen Freely ; with an introduction by Margaret Atwood ; and a postscript by the author
The Story of the Qurʼan: its history and place in Muslim life by Ingrid Mattson
When Asia was the World by Stewart Gordon
New Audio Books for Your Listening Pleasure
Antifragile: things that gain from disorder byNassim Nicholas Taleb; read by Joe Ochman
The Arthur Miller Collection: ten essential plays read by various performers
The Beautiful Mystery by Louse Penny; read by Ralph Cosham
Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter; read by Edoardo Ballerini 
Born to Win by Zig Ziglar and Tom Ziglar; read by Andy Andrews and Tom Ziglar
Bossypants by Tina Fey; read by the author
The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling; read by Tom Hollander
The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty; read by Elizabeth McGovern
City of Women: a novel by David R. Gillham; read by Suzanne Bertish
Cloud Atlas: a novel by David Mitchell; read by various performers
The Cocktail Waitress by James M. Cain; read by Amy Rubinate and the author
Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein; read by Moreven Christie and Lucy Gaskell
The Courage to Be Free: discover your original fearless self by Guy Finley; read by Sean Runnette
A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin; read by Roy Dotrice
Dearie: the remarkable life of Julia Child by Bob Spitz; read by Kimberly Farr
The Dirty Life: on farming, food, and love by Kristin Kimball; read by Tavia Gilbert
A Feast for Crows by George R.R. Martin; read by Roy Dotrice
A Foreign Country: a novel by Charles Cumming; read by Jot Davies
The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgeral; read by Anthony Heald
Gone Girl: a novel by Gillian Flynn; read by Julia Whelan and Kirby Heyborne
In the Garden of Beasts by Erik Larson; read by Stephen Hoye
In the Tall Grass by Stephen King, Joe Hill; read by Stephen Lang 
Killing Kennedy: the end of Camelot by Bill O'Reilly & Martin Dugard; read by Bill O'Reilly
Leonardo and the Last Supper by Ross King; narrated by Mark Meadows
Life of Pi by Yann Martel; read by Jeff Woodman with Alexander Marshall
Live by Night by Dennis Lehane; read by Jim Frangione
The Mark of Zorro: production of Hollywood Theater of the Ear; dramatized for audio, produced, and directed by Yuri Rasovsky; performed by Val Kilmer, Ruth Livier, Elizabeth Pena, Armin Shimerman, Meshach Taylor and a full cast
A Murder of Quality by John LeCarre; read by Michael Jayston
My Korean Deli: how I risked my career and mortgaged my future for a convenience store by Ben Ryder Howe; read by Bronson Pinchot
The Passage by Justin Cronin; read by Edward Herrmann
The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton; read by Caroline Lee
Selected Shorts: New American stories: Good living / Aleksandar Hemon -- Hell-heaven / Jhumpa Lahiri -- The thing around your neck / Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie -- Breaking and entering / Sherman Alexie; performed by Boyd Gaines, Rita Wolf, Condola Rashad, or B.D. Wong
Shatner rules: your guide to understanding the Shatnerverse and the world at large by William Shatner ; with Chris Regan; read bythe author
She Walks in Beauty: a woman's journey through poems selected and introduced by Caroline Kennedy; read by Caroline Kennedy, Jane Alexander, John Bedford Lloyd, Hope Davis, and Campbell Scott
Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson; read by Dylan Baker with an introduction by the author
A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin; read by Roy Dotrice
The Tipping Point: how little things can make a big difference by Malcolm Gladwell; read by the author
The Twelve: a novel by Justin Cronin; read by Scott Brick
The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce; read by Jim Broadbent 
What the Dog Saw by Malcolm Gladwell; read by the author
You Know When the Men Are Gone by Siobahn Falon; read by Cassandra Campbell

Loading...
