Skip to main content

JCC Library Services for Distance Learners: Finding Articles

Services and resources available at JCC's Library

Helpful handouts

Accessing JCC Databases from your home or office

MLA and APA are two most common standards used in college writing. MLA is generally preferred by English faculty. Many social science faculty prefer their students to use APA style. If in doubt, ask your instructor.

MLA Style for Citing Electronic Databases

APA Style for Citing Electronic Databases

 

Articles from print sources

If you can come to the JCC Library, or visit another library near where you live, you can also use print magazines and journals as resources for your research.

Databases

Start with Search Almost Everything on the library's home page for a Google-type search of the library's resources. You can narrow your results by using the limiters on the left side of the results page.

If you get too much that is not relevant and want to do a more precise search use the JCC Library Databases for full text articles from magazines, journals, newspapers, primary documents, and electronic books.There are several very good general databases covering all kinds of topics, as well as many focused on specific subjects.

Passwords: You may be asked to login when you click on a link to a database or an electronic book. Use your MyJCC  user name and password. If you do not know your MyJCC user name and password, look at the library handout "Accessing the JCC Databases from Your Home or Office". If you still have trouble, ask for help from Instructional Technology by contacting the StudentHelpDesk. Call 315-786-6511 or toll free 1-888- 435-6522, and ask for the Help Desk.

Scholarly vs. popular articles

Your professor may tell you to use only scholarly sources. View the YouTube video below to help you understand the difference between scholarly and popular publications. This video was produced by Georgia State University Library.

 

Need Help? Ask Here!

 

 

 

Use the above chat widget to get help from a live librarian 24 hours a day, 7 days a week

Email the library at reference@sunyjefferson.edu
or phone 315-786-2482