JCC's Library offers the content of several thousand electronic books (eBooks) to our patrons. The majority of our electronic books can be accessed via Search Almost Everything on the Library's home page. Use the "Limit by Type of Publication" links on the left column to limit your results to eBooks. eBooks may also be directly accessed via the various links to the collections on our web site. We purchase or facilitate access to these eBooks from several sources, including the following:
ebrary Academic Complete
ebrary Academic Complete provides a large, very well-rounded collection of ebooks.
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection
Multi-disciplinary collection of over 86,000 eBooks for academic research.
Springer Link
SpringerLink provides a variety of highly authoritative scientific sources, including over 50,000 ebooks.
ACLS Humanities E-Book
Provides access to a collection high quality electronic books covering historical as well as multi-disciplinary topics.
SUNY Press E Book Collection
Consists of over 600 titles published by the SUNY Press and made available by the State University of New York
Subject-specific eBook Collections
Incredibly Easy Nursing E-Books
A collection of 53 reference e-books covering nursing topics from the Incredibly Easy, LPN Expert Guides and Straight A’s series published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
STAT!Ref Nursing E-Books
A collection of 25 nursing resources including reference works, test preparation and instructional videos. You must click "I accept" at the first page to acknowledge the end-user agreement to get to the STAT!Ref site. Click here to find out about the STAT!Ref mobile app.
Reference eBook Collections
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Provides high quality subject and general encyclopedias, almanacs and dictionaries.
Credo Reference
Provides general and subject-specific dictionaries and other reference works.
To cite an electronic book using APA style, construct a citation for the print version of the book and then add a retrieval statement (illustrated in bold font in the example below —do not use bold when you write your APA citations).
Shahan, Sherry. (1997). Dashing through the snow: The story of the Jr. Iditarod. Brookfield, Conn.: Milbrook Press. Retrieved October 23, 2017,
from the eBook Collection database.
To cite electronic books that our library offers (as outlined above) in MLA 8 format, construct a citation for the print version of the book and then add the name of the eBook collection (use italics), followed by a comma. Next add the permanent url ("permalink"). Omit the http:// or https://. End the citation with a period.
ebrary Academic Complete:
McDonald, Kevin T. Above the Clouds: Managing Risk in the World of Cloud Computing. IT Governance, 2010. ebrary Academic Complete, jccweb.sunyjefferson.edu:2090/lib/sunyjefferson/
detail.action?docID=10438084.
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection:
Shahan, Sherry. Dashing through the Snow: The Story of the Jr. Iditarod. Milbrook, 1997. EBSCO Academic eBook Collection, jccweb.sunyjefferson.edu:2048/
/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=28845&site=eds-live&scope=site&ebv=EB&ppid=pp_COVER.
Springer Link:
Shimasaki, Craig D. The Business of Bioscience: What Goes Into Make a Biotechnology Product. Springer-Verlag, 2009. Springer Link, jccweb.sunyjefferson.edu:2164/content/
pdf/10.1007%2F978-1-4419-0064-7.pdf.
ACLS Humanities E-Book
Thomson, Alistair. Anzac Memories: Living with the Legend. Oxford UP, 1994. ACLS Humanities E-Book, jccweb.sunyjefferson.edu:2048/login?url= http://hdl.handle.net/2027/heb.03457.0001.00.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Citation of a specific entry from an e-book, with page numbers provided)
“Wireless Systems Integrator.” Business Plans Handbook, edited by Jacqueline K. Mueckenheim, vol. 4, Gale, 2002, pp. 423-450. Gale Virtual Reference Library, go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&
sw=w&u=sunyjefferson&v=2.1&id=GALE%7CCX3418400031&it=r&asid=8613b08f07041efae83f1ddd62df2866.
Credo Reference: (Citation of a specific entry from an e-book, without page numbers provided)
“Juarez, Benito (Pablo) 1806 – 1872.” Chambers Biographical Dictionary, Chambers, 2003. Credo Reference, jccweb.sunyjefferson.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/entry
/columency/juarez_benito/0.
Content Updated 8/8/17