LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Creative Commons Attribution

Attribution Examples

When Using the Original Work:

"Creative Commons 10th Birthday Celebration San Francisco" by tvol is licensed under CC BY 2.0

When Using a Slightly Modified Version of the Original Work:

"Creative Commons 10th Birthday Celebration San Francisco" by tvol, used under CC BY / Desaturated from original

When Using a Derivative of the Original Work:

This work, "90fied", is a derivative of "Creative Commons 10th Birthday Celebration San Francisco" by tvol, used under CC BY. "90fied" is licensed under CC BY by [Your name here].

Examples of ideal attribution from "Best Practices for Attribution" by the Creative Commons Wiki, used under CC BY 4.0.

Types of Licenses

The licenses below and their descriptions come from the About the Licenses page of Creative Commons.

Open Images

Google Advanced Image Search
Use the "Usage Rights" filter to find images with Creative Commons licenses.
Flickr
Flicker is a photo management and sharing platform. Browse recently added photographs marked with Creative Commons licenses or used the advanced search to find photos released under a particular license.
UWM Libraries Digital Collections
The UWM Libraries Digital Collections draw from materials in Archives, Special Collections, the Curriculum Collection, Music Library, and the American Geographical Society Library. Images may be downloaded by individuals or libraries for personal use, research, teaching or any "fair use" as defined by copyright law.
UW Digital Collections
The University of Wisconsin Digital Collections Center provides access to digital resources that support the teaching and research needs of the UW community, uniquely document the university and State of Wisconsin, and provide access to rare or fragile items of broad research value. Images may be downloaded and reused for educational purposes.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
NYPL holds more than 180,000 public domain items in its digital collections. Easily limit your search to "public domain" images or explore the public domain collections.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
The Library of Congress provides access to noncommercial, high-quality content, from digitized photographs, manuscripts, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, and books, to "born digital" materials, like Web sites. Whenever possible, the Library of Congress provides factual information about copyright holders of the materials but it is up to the user to make decisions about fair use of the materials.

Open Videos

YouTube
Contributors to YouTube can license their videos for reuse or reuse with attribution. Users can use filters to find Creative Commons licensed videos.
Vimeo
Vimeo is a video-sharing website where users can upload, share, and view videos. Search filters allow users to find Creative Commons licensed videos.
TED
TED Talks are available under the Creative Commons license "Attribution - NonCommercial - NonDerivative" (BY-NC-ND).
Khan Academy
Khan Academy offers free practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard so that learners can study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. Khan Academy's content is available for personal, non-commercial purposes.

Resources

Best practices for Creative Commons attribution
The Creative Commons' best practices for attributing CC-licensed materials
CC HowTo #1: How to Attribute a Creative Commons licensed work
A blog post by Molly Kleinman with examples of how to attribute CC-licensed works and derivatives

Attributing Creative Commons Materials
A guide to Attributing Creative Commons Materials by the Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence for Creative Industries and Innovation and Creative Commons Australia, licensed under CC BY 2.5 Australia.

CC Attribution Builder

How to find open videos and images

How to find a CC licensed video
Suggestions of sources for finding YouTube videos with Creative Commons licenses.
How to find a CC licensed image
Suggestions of sources for finding images with Creative Commons licenses.

YouTube Creative Commons Search

Use this method of filtering in a YouTube search to find videos with Creative Commons licenses that you can incorporate into your OER.

Open Educational Resources (OER): Creative Commons Attribution

Creating OER and Combining Licenses