Articles - Literary Criticism - ENG 102 Literature and Composition - LibGuides at SUNY Jefferson Community College

Subject Databases - Literary Criticism

The following databases provide content relating to literature and literary criticism.

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. Includes Gale Literature Criticism, Twayne's Author Series, and more. (Provided by SUNYConnect)
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, scholarly articles in several disciplines including literature and philosophy. Includes the complete run of issues, providing articles over 100 years old. For many titles, the content of the most recent 3-5 years is not included. Also includes some primary source and book content.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Offers full text articles and books from around the world with special focus on literature, philosophy, the arts, history and culture. Provides articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, films, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas and more. (Provided by SUNYConnect)
Twayne's Author Series (Gale) This link opens in a new window
The acclaimed Twayne’s Authors Online series of literary criticism offers in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres.

Selected General Use Databases

These General Use databases will provide articles on nearly any topic. When you click on the link you may be prompted to login with your MyJCC username/password.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database with thousands of full-text articles from scholarly journals and general, popular magazines.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database for accessing thousands of full-text articles from an extensive collection of scholarly journals, audio files and reference sources. (Provided by the New York State Library)
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing many full-text articles, with emphasis on general, popular magazines. Also includes a large variety of reference sources, images, maps and flags. (Powered by SUNYConnect)
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database with full-text articles from periodicals, newspapers, reference books and multimedia sources. (Provided by the New York State Library)
OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database with many full-text articles from scholarly journals and general, popular magazines. (Provided through NNYLN)

Searching for literary criticism

Use the databases listed to access articles relating to literary criticism.

Search terms

In many cases, simply entering the title of the work you are studying will serve as a starting point for your search terms. Next, add a word or two that relates to the specific aspects of the work you are interested in.

For example:

Hamlet cowardice

Your Librarian / Ask for Help

Contact:

jthomas@sunyjefferson.edu

315-786-2314

Research Assistance - Spring 2025

Email is the best method to use to contact me, I check my email several times a day during my normal work hours (9:00 am - 5:00 pm EST Monday through Friday). I check email less frequently (sometimes, not at all) during the weekends and on vacation days; if you need immediate help during these times, use the email and/or chat resources listed on our Ask for Help web page.

I look forward to working with you.

John

ENG 102 Literature and Composition : Articles - Literary Criticism

Subject Databases - Literary Criticism

Selected General Use Databases

Searching for literary criticism

Your Librarian / Ask for Help