Nursing and Allied Health: Journal Articles - Databases / Print

The library offers several databases that provide electronic copies of articles from a large number of nursing and allied health journals. In many cases you simply search for your topic and follow links to the articles. In other cases you can use the database as an index to locate articles in our print journals stored here at the library (see Print Nursing and Allied Health Articles box elsewhere on this page).

For some assignments your instructor may ask you for a link to articles you have consulted or reviewed. When providing the link, locate the "persistent link" for the article.  The url in your browser location bar is usually generated by your specific search and will not allow others to access the article. The persistent link is provided by the database and will provide direct access to the article (once the person clicking the link logs in as you had to when you accessed the database). Some databases label persistent links as Permalinks, or simply "link."

While many nursing and allied health scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles are available via the library's databases, the library also subscribes to a substantial nursing e-journal collection, as well as several titles in print format. To most quickly locate articles on your topic you should use an electronic database that indexes these journals.

Essentially, you perform a search in the database for your topic and after you locate an article that interests you, record the relevant information about the article (Journal name, date, issue, title of article, page numbers, etc.).

The following list of journals are key nursing titles, links will lead you to e-journal content, and those without links are print copies you can access in the library. The descriptions will provide a few helpful tips for searching for content for the particular title.

• Advances in Neonatal Care
  Access electronic full text content by clicking the link above.
  Indexed in: CINAHL
   
• Advances in Nursing Science
  Access electronic full text content by clicking the link above.
  Indexed in: CINAHL
   
• AJN: American Journal of Nursing
  Access electronic full text content by clicking the link above.
  Indexed in: CINAHL, among other databases. In CINAHL, use the Advanced Search option, enter your topic keywords and then Limit your results in the Publication area by entering American Journal of Nursing.

• American Nurse Journal 
  Indexed in: Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine, CINAHL, and other databases.  Use the Advanced Search options, enter your topic keywords and then Limit your results in the Publication area by entering American Nurse Journal. 

Full-text available in: JCC Library Periodicals Print Collection; Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine.
 

• CIN: Computers, Informatics, Nursing
  Access electronic full text content by clicking the link above.
  Indexed in: CINAHL
   
• Dimensions of Critical Care Nursing
  Access electronic full text content by clicking the link above.
  Indexed in: CINAHL
   
• Home Healthcare Now
  Access electronic full text content by clicking the link above.
  Indexed in: CINAHL, among other databases. In CINAHL, use the Advanced Search option, enter your topic keywords and then Limit your results in the Publication area by entering Home Healthcare Now.
   
• JONA: The Journal of Nursing Administration
  Access electronic full text content by clicking the link above.
  Indexed in: CINAHL
   
• Journal of Cardiovascular Nursing
  Access electronic full text content by clicking the link above.
  Indexed in: CINAHL
   
• Journal of Emergency Nursing 
  Indexed in: ScienceDirect, CINAHL, and other databases. Use the Advanced Search options, enter your topic keywords and then Limit your results in the Publication area by entering Journal of Emergency Nursing.
  Full-text available in: JCC Library Periodicals Print Collection; ScienceDirect
   
• Journal of Gerontological Nursing 
  Access electronic full text content by clicking the link above.
  Indexed in: CINAHL, among other databases. In CINAHL, use the Advanced Search option, enter your topic keywords and then Limit your results in the Publication area by entering Journal of Gerontological Nursing.
   
• Journal of Hospice & Palliative Nursing
  Access electronic full text content by clicking the link above.
  Indexed in: CINAHL
   
• Journal of Infusion Nursing
  Access electronic full text content by clicking the link above.
  Indexed in: CINAHL
   
• Journal of Nursing Care Quality
  Access electronic full text content by clicking the link above.
  Indexed in: CINAHL
   
• JPN: Journal of Psychosocial Nursing and Mental Health Services 
  Access electronic full text content by clicking the link above.
  Indexed in: CINAHL, among other databases. In CINAHL, use the Advanced Search option, enter your topic keywords and then Limit your results in the Publication area by entering Journal of Psychosocial Nursing.
   
• MCN: The American Journal of Maternal/Child Nursing 
  Access electronic full text content by clicking the link above.
  Indexed in: CINAHL, among other databases. In CINAHL, use the Advanced Search option, enter your topic keywords and then Limit your results in the Publication area by entering American Journal of Maternal Child Nursing. (Note: entering Maternal/Child in the title seems to work as well.)
   
• Nursing 2022 
  Access electronic full text content by clicking the link above.
  Indexed in CINAHL, among other databases. In CINAHL, use the Advanced Search option, enter your topic keywords and then Limit your results in the Publication area by entering Nursing (Note: Do not add the year to the title).
   
• Nursing Clinics of North America 
  Indexed in: CINAHL, among other databases. In CINAHL, use the Advanced Search option, enter your topic keywords and then Limit your results in the Publication area by entering Nursing Clinics of North America.
  Full-text available in: JCC Library Periodicals Print Collection
   
• Nursing: Critical Care
  Access electronic full text content by clicking the link above.
  Indexed in: CINAHL
   
• Nursing Made Incredibly Easy!
  Access electronic full text content by clicking the link above.
  Indexed in: CINAHL
   
• Nursing Outlook 
  Indexed in: ScienceDirect, CINAHL, and other databases. Use the Advanced Search options, enter your topic keywords and then Limit your results in the Publication area by entering Nursing Outlook.
  Full-text available in: JCC Library Periodicals Print Collection; ScienceDirect.
   
• Orthopaedic Nursing
  Access electronic full text content by clicking the link above.
  Indexed in: CINAHL

• Pediatric Nursing 
  Indexed in: CINAHL, among other databases. In CINAHL, use the Advanced Search option, enter your topic keywords and then Limit your results in the Publication area by entering Pediatric Nursing.
  Full-text available in: JCC Library Periodicals Print Collection; Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine; CINAHL