JCC Library Databases & More

A large worldwide collection of current and historical maps. Includes topographic, population and climate maps. All maps are downloadable and free to reproduce with attribution.

Provides economic, political and cultural information for 175 countries around the globe. Includes news articles, maps, travel and business information.

Multi-disciplinary database for accessing thousands of full-text articles from an extensive collection of scholarly journals, audio files and reference sources. (Provided by the New York State Library)

Multi-disciplinary database with thousands of full-text articles from scholarly journals and general, popular magazines.

Provides a variety of publications relating to government and defense, including Army Times.

Provides full-text articles from U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, webpages, news video and more.

Provides high-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines. AccessScience is a broad-based gateway to scientific knowledge, and includes links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus curriculum maps.

An important publication relating to marketing.

Image version of the print edition of the Albany Times Union newspaper.

Full text content of the print version of the Albany Times Union newspaper.

Content of the web-only portions of the Albany Times Union newspaper.

Provides more than 20,000 full video titles with well over 9,000 hours of content from a broad range of subject areas.

Provides access to the BBC production of Henry IV parts 1 and 2.

Provides full-text articles from popular news magazines such as Newsweek, Popular Science and Slate.

Provides digital access to an extensive collection of American periodicals from 1691 through 1877. This collection includes Harper's Weekly, as well as some primary sources.

Lengthy biographies for Americans of distinction who have died.

Provides full-text articles covering engineering, computer theory and systems, and new technologies. Includes articles on the social and professional aspects of computing. Also provides content from trade and industrial journals, professional and technical journals, specialized periodicals, buyers’ guides, directories and conference proceedings covering topics from acoustics and aeronautics, to neural networks and nuclear & civil engineering.

A comprehensive index of periodicals from all academic disciplines, including the majority of our library’s print subscriptions. Very little full-text is available from this database. Used for requesting articles through interlibrary loan.

An art image database covering all periods of history and cultures world-wide in the fields of architecture, painting, photography, decorative arts and design.

Practice test questions for the NCLEX PN and RN exams.
◦First time users must create an account using your JCC student email (e.g. astudentmmdd@live.sunyjefferson.edu).
◦Check your e-mail and click on the validation link in the e-mail.

Academic edition of Encyclopaedia Britannica Online.

Profiles of thousands of companies, plus full-text business articles on companies and their industries. Profiles include financial data, company histories and links to company websites. (Provided by the New York State Library)

Provides many full-text articles from all areas related to business. (Provided by SUNYConnect)

The No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.

Provides abstracts and full-text articles from the fields of nursing and allied health. Includes indexing back to 1937, full-text from medical journals, and research articles from nursing journals. (Provided by SUNYConnect)

Provides reports on current and controversial issues, giving all sides of an issue and citations to other sources of information. Great for topic selection and focusing. Includes full-text going back to 1923.

An eBook reference library consisting of reference books from many leading publishers. Includes general and subject-specific dictionaries and other reference works.

Provides abstracts and many full-text journal articles covering law enforcement, corrections, criminal law and social work.

Provides in-depth biographies and obituaries for thousands of internationally prominent individuals from 1940 to the present.

Includes nearly 5,000 high-quality e-books on the topic of diversity, equity, and inclusion.

Used by health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders to assess symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings.

Multi-disciplinary collection of over 86,000 eBooks for academic research.

Provides abstracts and full-text articles from education journals. It includes scholarly research relating to all areas of education, from early childhood to higher education, administration and social policy. Provided by SUNYConnect.

Provides periodicals and academic journals plus conference papers from professional organizations. Topics included are air and water pollution, climatic changes, environmental policy, conservation of natural resources, energy conservation and renewable energy resources.

Provides abstracts and some full-text of journal articles as well as ERIC documents, books, theses, conference papers, standards, and guidelines in the field of education. (Provided by SUNYConnect)

Designed for high school and undergraduate students, Exploring Race in Society provides context and solutions-oriented points of view within a scholarly collection of proprietary and licensed content on topics related to race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness.

Watch thousands of educational videos online, covering humanities, science, social sciences, health and business topics.

Gale Literature brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. Includes Gale Literature Criticism, Twayne's Author Series, and more. (Provided by SUNYConnect)

Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

Provides full-text articles from nursing and allied health journals, medical journals, newsletters and consumer health magazines. (Provided by the New York State Library)

Provides full-text articles from U.S. and international newspapers. (Provided by the New York State Library)

Providing over 300,000 articles from a wide variety of sources, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field.

A collection of reference eBooks - subject and general encyclopedias, almanacs and dictionaries.

Multi-disciplinary database with full-text articles from periodicals, newspapers, reference books and multimedia sources. (Provided by the New York State Library)

Provides abstracts and full-text articles covering human impact on the environment including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Provides books, reports, pamphlets, periodicals (popular and scholarly), and a medical dictionary. Includes information on diseases and their treatment and health topics such as fitness, exercise and diet. (Provided by SUNYConnect)

Provides full-text articles from general and scholarly medical publications, with a focus on nursing and allied health. (Provided by SUNYConnect)

Offers full text articles and books from around the world with special focus on literature, philosophy, the arts, history and culture. Provides articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, films, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas and more. (Provided by SUNYConnect)

Provides nearly 3 million rights-cleared images from more than 50 of the best collections in the world, including The Bridgeman Art Gallery, Dorling Kindersley Images, Getty Images, the National Portrait Gallery of London, the National Geographic Society, and others. Students and faculty can use these images for educational use without worrying about copyright issues.

The students of Jefferson Community College have published a student newspaper since shortly after the college was founded. Over the years the name has changed several times, the names include: Jefferson Community College News, The Cannoneer, The Word, Jefferson Chronicle, and The Cannon. The contents of many of these student papers are now available online thanks to a grant by the Northern New York Library Network .

Provides full-text, scholarly articles in several disciplines including literature and philosophy. Includes the complete run of issues, providing articles over 100 years old. For many titles, the content of the most recent 3-5 years is not included. Also includes some primary source and book content.

Streaming videos from quality film producers. Titles are acquired by faculty request only,

Provides article from most important and historically significant LGBTQ journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 170 full-text books.

Gale Business: Entrepreneurship is a comprehensive database that covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. It combines authoritative periodical and reference content to support prospective and current entrepreneurs as well as business students. Experience an easy-to-browse interface mapped to four key stages—plan, fund, start, and manage—to fit your research needs at any point in your business's development.

Gale Literature brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. Includes Gale Literature Criticism, Twayne's Author Series, and more. (Provided by SUNYConnect)

Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

Multi-disciplinary database providing many full-text articles, with emphasis on general, popular magazines. Also includes a large variety of reference sources, images, maps and flags. (Powered by SUNYConnect)

Provides many full-text articles from scholarly journals on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, healthcare and pre-clinical sciences. (Provided by SUNYConnect)

Offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. (Provided by SUNYConnect)

Naxos Music Library provides streaming access to more than 164,000 CDs and over 2.5 million tracks representing more than 2,500 composers in seven different genres of music including classical music, world music and jazz.

Provides free access to the New York Times online. See our help page (http://sunyjefferson.libguides.com/database_help) for account creation and access information.

Choose a career field and find articles from a variety of sources; including newspapers, webpages and more, related to persons and events in that field.

Articles, links, maps and graphics focused on topics of current interest. Includes content from sources throughout the world to provide a global perspective, current and background information, and statistics.

Provides full-text articles from over 1500 newspapers. Also includes transcripts from many television and radio news programs.

Provides articles from local historical newspapers, some dating back as far as the early 1800s.

Provides articles from historical newspapers, some dating back as far as the early 1800s, including a great deal of content from local newspapers.

WorldCat is the world's largest online catalog. Once you locate the book, click the "ILL" icon near the top of the page and follow the directions for placing the request.

A multi-disciplinary database with many full-text articles from scholarly journals and general, popular magazines. (Provided through NNYLN)

Provides essays offering in-depth analysis of all sides of many current social issues. Great for topic selection and focusing. Additional content for many issues available as well.

Thousands of primary source documents in history, literature, science, law, politics, religion, and more.

Provides meaning, history and pronunciation of 600,000 words - past and present - from across the English-speaking world.

Online version of the Oxford Dictionary of Music, Oxford Companion to Music, Encyclopedia of Popular Music and Grove Music Online. Includes world, popular and 20th century music as well as links to high-quality sound files.

Free Test & Career Prep software to help your job search or advance your career. Creation of your own account is encouraged to enable you to track your progress.

Provides articles and essays on current and controversial topics. A good source to use when considering all sides of a topic. Includes images, videos, primary documents and radio/TV news transcripts.

ProQuest Ebook Central provides a large, very well-rounded collection of eBooks.

Provides articles from over 800 major U.S. and international newspapers as well as Gannett regional newspapers.

Provides full-text articles from scholarly psychology journals.

Provides scholarly articles on psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology and observational and experimental methods.

Nursing eBooks for students and faculty.

Provides full-text articles from regional business journals, newspapers and newswires from all areas in the U.S. Includes business sources from Central New York (Syracuse, Rochester, Albany). (Powered by SUNYConnect)

A small collection of ebooks, including a variety of reference works (including New York State information), career guides, literature, and history.

Provides resources for sports business research. Includes marketing, statistics, venues, activity and team research.

Provides many full-text articles from scholarly scientific, technical, engineering and medical journals. (Provided by SUNYConnect)

Provides access to full-text articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.

Provides full-text scholarly journal articles from social science journals, books and conference papers.

SpringerLink provides a variety of highly authoritative scientific sources, including over 50,000 eBooks.

A collection of 23 nursing resources including reference works and test preparation books. You must click "I accept" at the first page to acknowledge the end-user agreement to get to the STAT!Ref site. Click here to find out about the STAT!Ref mobile app.

Statista is an online statistics portal. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions. The platform has statistics on over 60,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources.

Consists of over 600 titles published by the SUNY Press and made available by the State University of New York.

50+ full-length popular and documentary films in streaming format. On campus use Chrome for the browser. If instructed to update the Media Optimizer, follow the instructions.

Provides full text articles from journals, periodicals, and books on topics such as teaching and administrative practice in the educational setting for all grade levels. (Provided by SUNYConnect)

The acclaimed Twayne’s Authors Online series of literary criticism offers in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres.

The acclaimed Twayne’s Authors Online series of literary criticism offers in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres.

Follow this link to learn how to create your own Wall Street Journal account.

Full-text content from February 22, 1988 on. (Provided by NNYLN)

Explore print edition of the Watertown Daily Times from Dec. 17, 2018 to today. Updated daily. Scroll down past search box to find current and archived issues of The Watertown Daily Times in full-color newspaper pages online.