English & Literature Databases: Home

Gale Literature brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. Includes Gale Literature Criticism, Twayne's Author Series, and more. (Provided by SUNYConnect)

Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

Offers full text articles and books from around the world with special focus on literature, philosophy, the arts, history and culture. Provides articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, films, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas and more. (Provided by SUNYConnect)

Provides full-text, scholarly articles in several disciplines including literature and philosophy. Includes the complete run of issues, providing articles over 100 years old. For many titles, the content of the most recent 3-5 years is not included. Also includes some primary source and book content.

The acclaimed Twayne’s Authors Online series of literary criticism offers in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres.

The acclaimed Twayne’s Authors Online series of literary criticism offers in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres.

Provides meaning, history and pronunciation of 600,000 words - past and present - from across the English-speaking world.