LibGuides: HUS 101 Introduction to Human Services: Pioneer Project

Websites

VCU Social Welfare History Project
From Virginia Commonwealth University

Images and Statistics

ImageQuest
Rights cleared images for educational use
Statista
Online statistics database with great data and graphics to help tell your story

You can also use Google Images. Google your topic>choose Images>Then Tools>Then Usage rights>Then Creative Commons licenses

Online Access

We offer a wealth of quality research resources via this research guide and our website.

You will likely need to login once you attempt to access a library database or ebook for the first time in your research session.

When the white login screen "Login to Library Databases" appears, enter your JCC Network ID login, which is slightly different than your MyJCC/Brightspace login, you only need to enter your first initial, last name, month of birth in two digit format, and day of birth in two digit format. Thus, James Smith, born on Jan. 1, 2002 would enter: jsmith0101 as his username.

If you have difficulty logging in, consult our Library Login Troubleshooting tool. Contact us if you have any issues, we are here to help!

Library Login Troubleshooting

Articles

Use Primo to search for articles. Then try using the subject specific databases listed below that were selected for your Human Services assignments. Your results will be different because of the type of resources each search interface accesses. You will probably find using the subject specific databases provide you with more relevant results.

SocINDEX with Full Text
Provides full-text scholarly journal articles from social science journals, books and conference papers.
Social Sciences Full Text
Provides access to full-text articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
JSTOR
Provides full-text, scholarly articles in several disciplines including literature and philosophy. Includes the complete run of issues, providing articles over 100 years old. For many titles, the content of the most recent 3-5 years is not included. Also includes some primary source and book content.
ScienceDirect
Provides many full-text articles from scholarly scientific, technical, engineering and medical journals. (Provided by SUNYConnect)

Reference Books & Biography Databases - Background Information

Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of reference eBooks - subject and general encyclopedias, almanacs and dictionaries.
Credo Reference Ebooks
An eBook reference library consisting of reference books from many leading publishers. Includes general and subject-specific dictionaries and other reference works.
American National Biography
Lengthy biographies for Americans of distinction who have died.
Current Biography Illustrated
Provides in-depth biographies and obituaries for thousands of internationally prominent individuals from 1940 to the present.

Books and eBooks

Books to borrow or eBooks to access online.

Use Primo on the library homepage to find both the print books in the library and 1000s of eBooks

Do your search and then check off the box "Books" under "Material Type" in the left column to narrow your results to books - both print and eBooks. If you want just eBooks then choose "Available Online" under "Availability".

Your Librarian / Ask for Help

Contact:

jthomas@sunyjefferson.edu

315-786-2314

Research Assistance - Fall 2025

Email is the best method to use to contact me, I check my email several times a day during my normal work hours (9:00 am - 5:00 pm EST Monday through Friday). I check email less frequently (sometimes, not at all) during the weekends and on vacation days; if you need immediate help during these times, use the email and/or chat resources listed on our Ask for Help web page.

I look forward to working with you.

John

APA Style help

APA 7 tips and template for MS Word

APA style guide from Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL)

APA format for citing electronic database articles