LibGuides: Social Science Research: Political Science

Books

The JCC Library offers good resources for research in the area of political science, whether you can come to the library or can only connect online

Print Books

Use Primo on the Library homepage to look up print books. Use the books/media search.

Print books on political science are found in the J section of the library. You will also find resources in the history sections ( D, E and F).

J	Political Science
J	General legislative and executive papers
JA	Political science (General)
JC	Political theory
JF	Political institutions and public administration — General
JK	Political institutions and public administration — United States
JL	Political institutions and public administration — Canada. Latin America
JN	Political institutions and public administration — Europe
JQ	Political institutions and public administration — Asia. Africa. Australia. Pacific area
JS	Local government. Municipal government
JV	Colonies and colonization. Emigration and immigration. International migration
JZ	International relations

E-Books for Political Science

Use Primo on the Library homepage to find full text e-books. Limit your search results to Available Online under Availability and eBooks/Books under Material Type. if you asked to logon to get to full text use your JCC login.

There are also some good reference e-books available through the JCC databases.

Below are just a sample of the many excellent e-books on political science that you can access online.

The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History by Michael Kazin (Editor); Rebecca Edwards (Editor); Adam Rothman (Editor)
ISBN: 9780691129716
American Public Philosophy and the Mystery of Lincolnism by Eric C. Sands
ISBN: 9780826218490
Publication Date: 2009-06-17
Religion, Politics and Law by Bart Labuschagne (Editor); Reinhard Sonnenschmidt (Editor)
ISBN: 9789004172074
Patriotism by Aleksandar Pavkovic (Editor); Igor Primoratz (Editor)
ISBN: 9780754671220

Articles from JCC databases

Here are suggested databases for political science research. In addition, several other general topic databases may also provide good political science resources.

Gale OneFile: World History This link opens in a new window
Providing over 300,000 articles from a wide variety of sources, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides reports on current and controversial issues, giving all sides of an issue and citations to other sources of information. Great for topic selection and focusing. Includes full-text going back to 1923.
NewsBank Special Reports This link opens in a new window
Articles, links, maps and graphics focused on topics of current interest. Includes content from sources throughout the world to provide a global perspective, current and background information, and statistics.
New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
Search for and select SUNY Jefferson Community College Watertown NY once you access the site. Provides free access to the New York Times online. See our help page (http://sunyjefferson.libguides.com/database_help) for account creation and access information.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, scholarly articles in several disciplines including literature and philosophy. Includes the complete run of issues, providing articles over 100 years old. For many titles, the content of the most recent 3-5 years is not included. Also includes some primary source and book content.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals. (Provided by SUNYConnect)
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database with thousands of full-text articles from scholarly journals and general, popular magazines.

Primary Sources from JCC databases

Websites

Here are some suggested Internet sites related to the various aspects of Political Science including International Relations and those views from the Right and Left. Thanks to librarian Diane Cockrell from Montgomery College for sharing this list.

Political Resources on the Net
Arranged by country, this resource provides access to governement information and political parties worldwide
Political Science Resources
Large list of links covering political theory, constitutions, area studies, governments throughout the world, etc.
Country Studies
This site from the Library of Congress provides full text books about the history, politics, economy, etc. of countries around the world.
Council on Foreign Relations
A non-partisan think tank which offers analysis and commentary on U.S. relations with other countries.
Europa:Gateway to the European Union
This is the homepage of the European Union.
African Studies Center
A well organized annotated list of links to all African countries.
Flashpoints
Articles about current world conflicts.
Latin American Network Information Center
An excellent list of links from the University of Texas.
FactCheck
FactCheck analyzes "the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews, and news releases."
Heritage Foundation
A conservative think tank "based on the principles of free enterprise, limited government, individual freedom, traditional American values..."
Brookings Institution
This think tank has a generally liberal perspective on issues.
Urban Institute
"...we analyze policies, evaluate programs, and inform community development to improve social, civic, and economic well-being."
WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources
A website directory that has over 2000 annotated links in 37 international affairs categories.

Citizen Participation & Federal Government

Here are some Internet sites for you the citizen to find out information related to your voting rights and your federal government.

Congress.org
This site provides a simple method for finding addresses of Senators, Congressional Representatives, and State Legislative Representatives.
Project Vote Smart
Provides non-partisan information on current issues.
Congress.gov
This is the premier source on Congress. Look here for information on legislation, legislators, treaties, roll call votes, etc.
U.S. Government Manual
"As the official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and exeuctive branches."
USA.gov
This site is formerly known as FirstGov, USA.gov is the primary portal for federal government information.

Need Help? Ask Here!

Email the library
or phone 315-786-2482

Live Chat with an Academic Librarian
Live chat with a member of a team of academic librarians from colleges around the US. Get help finding resources, citing, etc.