LibGuides: Social Science Research: Sociology

Books

The JCC Library offers good resources for research in the area of sociology, whether you can come to the library or can only connect online

Print Books

Use Primo on the Library homepage to look up print books. Use the books/media search.

Print books on sociology are found in the HM - HV section of the library.

HM Sociology (General)

HN Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform

HQ The family. Marriage. Women

HT Communities. Classes. Races

HV Social pathology. Social and public welfare

E-books for sociology

Use Primo on the Library homepage to find full text e-books. Limit your search results to Available Online under Availability and eBooks/Books under Material Type. if you asked to logon to get to full text use your JCC login.

There are also some good reference e-books available through the JCC databases.

Below are just a sample of the many excellent e-books on sociology that you can access online.

Handbook of the Sociology of Aging by Jacqueline L. Angel
ISBN: 9781441973740
Alone Together by Paul R. Amato; Alan Booth; David R. Johnson; Stacy J. Rogers
ISBN: 9780674032170
Adoption Nation by Adam Pertman
ISBN: 9781558327665
Our Studies, Ourselves by Barry Glassner (Editor); Rosanna Hertz (Editor)
ISBN: 0195146611

Articles from JCC databases

Here are suggested databases for sociology research. In addition, several other general topic databases may also provide good sociology resources.

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text scholarly journal articles from social science journals, books and conference papers.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Provides article from most important and historically significant LGBTQ journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 170 full-text books.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides many full-text articles from scholarly scientific, technical, engineering and medical journals. (Provided by SUNYConnect)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, scholarly articles in several disciplines including literature and philosophy. Includes the complete run of issues, providing articles over 100 years old. For many titles, the content of the most recent 3-5 years is not included. Also includes some primary source and book content.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database with thousands of full-text articles from scholarly journals and general, popular magazines.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database for accessing thousands of full-text articles from an extensive collection of scholarly journals, audio files and reference sources. (Provided by the New York State Library)
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing many full-text articles, with emphasis on general, popular magazines. Also includes a large variety of reference sources, images, maps and flags. (Powered by SUNYConnect)

Websites

Below are just a few suggestions for good websites for sociology research. There are many very good websites out there, and and also many not-so-good websites. Remember to evaluate any website that you use for research! Your work is only as good as the resources that you choose to use. The list below was compiled by librarian Elizabeth Fox of South Dakota State University and used with her permission.

American Sociological Association
Website for the American Sociological Association
Social Movements & Culture: A Resource Site
Resources on major social movements in the U.S. and transnational world.
SocioWeb
Sociological sources on the internet.
Global Gateway
World culture and resources from the Library of Congress.
National Social Science Association
Society devoted to interaction between social scientists in various disciplines.
AppliedSoc.org
Intro to sociology degrees, careers, etc.
Society for the Study of Social Problems
Website devoted to the study of social problems.
Urban Institute
Website of nonpartisan economic and social policy research.
Center for Economic and Social Rights
Social Justice Through Human Rights
International Sociological Association
Society of sociologists from around the world representing many schools of thought and research methodologies.
Population Index
This indexes work on population and related topics.

Sociological Theory

These are a few of the websites on sociological theory. Although they have been reviewed by a librarian, you still need to evaluate the information you get from them.

Great Social Theorists
Website focuses on Malthus, Compte, de Tocqueville, Marx, Spencer, Veblen, Durkheim, Weber, and Du Bois.
Famous Sociologists: Strong Shoulders to Stand On
Information on many sociological theorists.
Marxists Internet Archive
Online library of materials by and about Marxists.

Need Help? Ask Here!

Email the library
or phone 315-786-2482

Live Chat with an Academic Librarian
Live chat with a member of a team of academic librarians from colleges around the US. Get help finding resources, citing, etc.