Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SUNY Jefferson

JCC Library Handouts: MLA 8 Format For Citing Electronic Library Databases

These are simplified handouts with documentation information for students.

MLA 8 Format For Citing Electronic Library Databases

MLA 8 Format for Citing Electronic Library Databases

Basic Form:

Author’s last name, comma, first name, middle initial, period : Ponder, Jennifer B.

If no author is listed, begin citation with title

Article title, period, in quotes: “The Butterfly Effect: The Impact of Citizenship Education.”
Journal title, italicized, comma: Social Studies Journal,
Date -

  • For a scholarly journal, use vol. ## for volume number, comma, no. ## for issue number, comma, month or season if available, comma, year, comma: vol. 100, no. 3, Fall, 2009,
  • For a popular magazine or newspaper, use date and edition elements that are available for your citation—day month year, comma, edition, comma: 12 Sept. 2009, late ed., 
  • If there is no edition, use day month year, comma: 12 Sept. 2009,
  • If there is no day, use month year, comma: Sept. 2009,

Page numbers:

  • For page range use pp. ##-##, period: pp. 129-135.
  • For one page use p. #, period.: p. 125.
  • If page numbering is not continuous, use pp. and  first page number and plus sign, period: pp. 14+.

Database name, italicized,comma: Omnifile Full Text Select,
DOI (digital object identifier) if available or permanent url ("permalink") if no DOI. Omit http;// or https:// in url, period: doi:10.1353/pmc.2000.0021. or jccweb.sunyjefferson.edu:2055/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=108332619&site=ehost-live.

Put together, citations should look like the following examples, with first line starting at margin and subsequent lines indented. Typing should be double-spaced.

Scholarly journal article from an online library database:

Ponder, Jennifer B. “The Butterfly Effect: The Impact of Citizenship Education.” Social Studies Journal, vol. 100, no. 3, 2009, pp. 129-135. Omnifile Full Text Select, doi:10.1353/pmc.2000.0021.

Popular magazine article from an online library database:

Gibbs, Nancy. “Zero Tolerance, Zero Sense.” Time, 21 Mar. 2011, pp.  62-63. Academic Search Complete, jccweb.sunyjefferson.edu:2055/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=59305669&site=ehost-live.

Newspaper article without an author from an online library database:

“Hollywood Night of Offbeat Choices.” New York Times, 13 Jan. 2009, C1. New York Times (1923-Current file),  jccweb.sunyjefferson.edu:2068/docview/1030554432?accountid=40619.