Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SUNY Jefferson

About the Library

Library Collections

The collections of the JCC Library support the courses and curricula of Jefferson Community College.

Books

  • The library owns approximately 43,000 print book volumes, organized in various collections:
    Main collection  Provides about 35,000 academic titles.
    Oversize collection  Provides about 1000 titles.
    Reference collection  Provides subject encyclopedias and other specialized sources.
    Young Adult collection  This collection includes many popular fiction titles of interest to both young and not so young readers.
    Juvenile collection  This collection of children's books includes picture books and chapter books for young readers.
    Audio Book collection  Provides many popular and general interest titles on CDs.
    Textbooks on reserve collection  Provides a selected number of textbooks.

    Guide to Locating Books

  • Electronic Books The library offers the content of over 300,000 electronic books to our patrons. The vast majority of these may be accessed via our discovery tool Primo and read in the user's browser without the use of a e-reader or special apps.

 

Newspapers, Magazines and Journals

  • Use our databases to access literally millions of newspaper, magazine and journal articles from thousands of titles.
  • The library subscribes to several local newspapers in print format, including the Watertown Daily Times.
  • The contents of the Watertown Daily Times from 1973-1997 are available on Microfilm, and from 1988-present via the Newsbank database.
  • The library subscribes to approximately 100 magazines and journals in print format.

 

Media - Films, Documentaries, and Music

  • The Media Center, located in the library, maintains a collection of films, documentaries, music CDs and other media items that have been selected to support academic programs at the college. In addition, select streaming media resources are also made available.
  • Use Primo to learn what media materials are available.
  • All patrons may view any media item while in the library and may borrow items from the circulating collections; non-circulating collection items may only be checked out by faculty/staff members.

 

Local History

  • The Local History/Archives area contains a special collection of books, periodicals, manuscripts, pamphlets and clippings that relate to Watertown, Jefferson County, the North Country, the Adirondacks, and Jefferson Community College.
  • Local History and Archives Research Guide
  • Materials designated "Archives - Reference" must be used in the library.
  • A reference librarian is available on a limited basis to assist patrons doing research on local history.